Fierceness Driven Sideways by the Wind

I used to think the howling in my head was a fearsome and unwanted thing but then I heard it from a different when

I heard the wind wailing wild and the wolves were singing to it

the snow whipped hard and landed soft to cool the embers of my rage

no way for you to know it   no way for me to show it

but the blizzard came a’ calling while my soul was busy falling

the wind it shifted and the snow of course it drifted

when my soul came down to earth it found a cold but welcome birth

I left everything unneeded and everyone’s advice unheeded

I made my angel’s wings while laughing

and left no footprints they could follow

but I listen for the singing of the wolves among the pines

and wailing wild the wind and I are bound

I was never lost so I am not found

I’m only home in here at last     I’m only home where I belong

in the wild wood storm I found my peaceful soul at last

I’m not the eye   I’m not the I   I am the whipping wind and snow

I’m not the peace I am the fierceness driven sideways by the wind

exultation is my middle name the rest you never will pronounce

my home is here and whirling    I am the living in the dance

About dancingwarrior55

I am a 52 year old Wiccan Priestess, currently working toward a degree in Metaphysical Science. My primary focus is on Post Traumatic Growth/Disorder, and developing healing rituals and other tools for those facing traumatic challenge, especially for survivors of sexual assault/abuse and for combat survivors.
This entry was posted in From Clinging to the Wreckage to Dancing on the Waves, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fierceness Driven Sideways by the Wind

  1. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing. It gave me a very empowering feeling.

  2. Hawkruh says:

    powerful and moving

  3. Bourbon says:

    Wow… xx

  4. I’m never sure what’s in there when I open up to write. Once in a while I get a phrase or a feeling that I like… Thank you, I’m glad you liked it. Odd to get such an empowered poem when my depression seems on an upswing… I maintain that I am a creature primarily of paradox. 🙂

  5. manyofus1980 says:

    Wow…Loving it…well done xx

    • Thank you so much:) I have become rather fond of the phrase that I used as the title since I wrote it… sometimes a poem or other piece of writing offers up a phrase that I actually remember writing 🙂 This was one, so I’m glad you liked it!

  6. Grainne says:

    I hope you’re okay? Haven’t seen you around in a while? xx

Leave a Reply

