Humor from Many Sides

I am sharing a couple of photos I have on myfacebook page; my thanks to those who originally posted them!
One side of me likes cute and inspiring; one side of me is deeply twisted and warped. Guess wich side I enjoy more viscerally? Heh Heh Heh, yup — the twisted stuff. It has kept me sane for so many years, I would like to thank my father for encouraging this side of me. From the song about Lizzie Borden and Tom Lehrer‘s “Poisoning Pidgeons in the Park” (a fellow Harvard person, so my dad really liked him) to making sure I had access to a collection of Charles Addams cartoons by the time I was 6 or 7, my dad made sure that I understood and could appreciate dark humor. Sometimes it is the only sane way to release rage, hostility, or face it, frustration at the way the world really works. If it can offend, it has some power to it, and if we can learn to have a sense of humor about what offends us we might have a little more power over our  stress, or at least a coping method that is socially acceptable. Here are examples of two of the sides to my sense of humor:

About dancingwarrior55

I am a 52 year old Wiccan Priestess, currently working toward a degree in Metaphysical Science. My primary focus is on Post Traumatic Growth/Disorder, and developing healing rituals and other tools for those facing traumatic challenge, especially for survivors of sexual assault/abuse and for combat survivors.
This entry was posted in From Clinging to the Wreckage to Dancing on the Waves, prose and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Humor from Many Sides

  1. Bourbon says:

    You’re right. The hoodie is very cute!! X

  2. The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) says:

    Cute! I like!

  3. sonamsangmu says:

    Awww 🙂

  4. I love the raccoon one. I needed that today 🙂
    Thank you for sharing!

  5. Grainne says:

    “If you’re happy and you know it share your meds!” – KILLED me this morning. lol. That’s hilarious. You’ve been credited with my first and second smile of the day. 😀 (thanks!)

  6. Pingback: Nothing But Trouble « Stories in 5 Minutes

  7. Hi, I saw your comment, sorry it took so long to reply. I added a thing so you can subscribe with an RSS reader. If you use Firefox just click the one that says Atom, I’m not sure how it works with Internet Explorer or any other RSS reader. I’m assuming similarly. Sorry to reply here, didn’t know if you had email alerts to replies to your comment on my blog. =P

Leave a Reply

